My white knuckles makes it hard to drive

What can I say— I am a white-knuckler. Not the trapped-in-traffic-and-late-for-an- appointment type, but with my significant relationship in my life. I have never found it easy to give up control, especially since I am naturally head strong and was raised by a forward thinking mother during a time when the women’s movement was making history. When you think about it, between 1963-73, The Feminine Mystique and Ms. Magazine was published, the 27th amendment on equal rights was passed, and then the landmark decision on Roe vs. Wade. It’s not a wonder I have been a finger snappin’, head movin’, “Don’t you be tellin’ me what to do” chiquita, for as long as I can remember.

For all of us “white-knucklers” out there, I think this statement from Bishop T.D. Jakes is especially poignant:    

“That that refuses to be broken, refuses to be blessed. It is the breaking of life that produces the blessing of life.”

Amen my sisters!

About frontporchgab

My name is Christy and I live in San Diego. I’m 53 years old and love finding humor in life. I have been married for four years (second marriage) and we have five 20 something kids between the two of us. My husband and I are raising two adorable mutts that we treat and talk to like we do our own kids. Ah, those child rearing days have come again. Weekends I love riding our Harley with my husband, summer camping in the Sierras or at our beautiful coasts, walk dog park with our mutts, reading, ancestry.com, traveling-anywhere, spending time with family; I'm generally up for anything that doesn't involve jumping out of a plane. I'm new to blogging and am I'm finding myself excited about writing again. Any suggestions you can send my way I would love to hear from you!
This entry was posted in Relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment