The tortoise is my hero.

I truly love and admire the tortoise with his “slow and steady wins the race” philosophy. Unfortunately, I am the hare. I blast off with great gusto and enthusiasm and half way to the finish line I decide I’m not interested anymore. So, I have to adopt a “slow and steady” attitude. This attitude is especially important to continue with my new endeavor, my blog. My first attitude adjustment was put to the test so my husband and I could head out of town for the weekend.

It is exciting to begin something new. It’s been fun researching how blogging works; including, all the what, where and whys about it.  I have not only learned what a widget was, but implemented mine.  But that’s okay, because I’m a hare and I was going just as fast as I could.  In six days I had set up two blog sites and posted three times. I felt pretty good about how it was going until it was time to head out of town for the weekend.

My husband, Rick and I had talked about getting out of town for a few weeks, so when Wednesday rolled around it was time to get on Priceline and book our hotel. My first wave of panic struck. If I was out of town, how was I going to continue my research on blogging and stay on schedule to post my next entry? I just wasn’t ready to slow my pace. Okay, I thought, I will print out articles on blogging and read them over the weekend.  I soon realized that wasn’t realistic; I would zip through the articles by mile 25! Then what?!

Something I forgot to mention—Rick is the tortoise. Not that he is slow, but he knows how to pace himself. He is very good at weighing things out and managing his time. I, on the other hand, thrive in “over commitment”, which means that time and I are in constant negotiation. So, it came as no surprise to me when Rick stood in front of me with concern on his face and told me how important it is for me to slow down. He reminded me that I could catch up on my magazines and start the book I have been meaning to get to for months; he was looking forward to spending time together; apparently, even though my computer is in the same room as the television, that doesn’t count. Believe me, I asked.  “Okay, you’re right. I agree.” “So, do you mind if I take your laptop; it’s kind of like a magazine, except with a power cord!” Umm, that was a, “No, ma’am”.  Oh, I got it, “The business center at the hotel, maybe I could…” Ahh, maybe not.

So, we hit the road early Saturday morning and got back home late Sunday afternoon. It was wonderful. I read my Bon Appetite magazines and finally started Little Bee by Chris Cleave (love it!). We hung out by the pool (me under the umbrella), enjoyed a wonderful sushi dinner, laughed and had fun. The weekend was a well needed getaway for both of us.

And, I’m happy to report that the hare is down to a hop.

About frontporchgab

My name is Christy and I live in San Diego. I’m 53 years old and love finding humor in life. I have been married for four years (second marriage) and we have five 20 something kids between the two of us. My husband and I are raising two adorable mutts that we treat and talk to like we do our own kids. Ah, those child rearing days have come again. Weekends I love riding our Harley with my husband, summer camping in the Sierras or at our beautiful coasts, walk dog park with our mutts, reading, ancestry.com, traveling-anywhere, spending time with family; I'm generally up for anything that doesn't involve jumping out of a plane. I'm new to blogging and am I'm finding myself excited about writing again. Any suggestions you can send my way I would love to hear from you!
This entry was posted in Fun and Humor, Love and Spirit, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The tortoise is my hero.

  1. melmannphoto says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere and a global audience. Thanks for sharing with us your experience and insight. I’m sure you’ll hear from others with similar challenges and their solutions for finding the best of the hare and tortoise. For me, regardless of the pace, I look for the Zen in each moment, that aspect that connects me with where I am and what I’m doing.

    One blogging hint I can share is to develop an editorial calendar – what you’ll publish and when. It helps me with research as well as holding a commitment over my head.

    And if you really want to get into slowing down, take up landscape photography! Waiting for just the right light will definitely help you listen to yourself.

    • Thank you for your comment and insight. It is wonderful advise and a great place to begin as I start this journey. It is easy to become overwhelmed when out of your element, but at the same time exciting to be embark on something new. Besides, it sounds like I could benefit from dusting off my camera and head towards a sunset!

      Thanks again and I look forward to hearing from you again soon.

Leave a Reply

