Scary Books On A Bookshelf

I have to say, “I love to see books in a bookcase!” With the exception of having to dust it, I love everything about it. It may be one of the few places in a house that tells a story about the owner. I admit, the first few times I’m invited to someone’s home the ever elusive “laser tractor beam” engages and I’m pulled towards the shelves, until I am reading titles and asking questions.  

Think about how much time we could save getting to know someone we were interested in dating. What if perusing his or her bookshelf was a prerequisite to a relationship? I would say to the girls, if you see “I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell” just run away…run fast and run far.

I have to admit there have been some pretty eye raising books on my bookshelf. I know there was a few on paganism. I had my children out dancing in the yard celebrating a full moon on more than one occasion—Oh, yes, I did! A staple on the shelf was “The Woman’s Room” by Marilyn French. Yes, this is a classic, but it was the dozen like it that would be a bit intimidating. I had to stop reading these books after a while because I couldn’t figure out why I was so anxious all the time.  Let’s see, several books on Tarot reading, accompanied by a few tarot decks. And, books with various combinations on horoscopes…Linda Goodman’s “Love Signs” (of coarse) sat proudly.

 I’m sure I’m not alone with scary books on a bookshelf, or would be considered a bit eye raising to the unsuspecting visitor. What would be yours?

About frontporchgab

My name is Christy and I live in San Diego. I’m 53 years old and love finding humor in life. I have been married for four years (second marriage) and we have five 20 something kids between the two of us. My husband and I are raising two adorable mutts that we treat and talk to like we do our own kids. Ah, those child rearing days have come again. Weekends I love riding our Harley with my husband, summer camping in the Sierras or at our beautiful coasts, walk dog park with our mutts, reading, ancestry.com, traveling-anywhere, spending time with family; I'm generally up for anything that doesn't involve jumping out of a plane. I'm new to blogging and am I'm finding myself excited about writing again. Any suggestions you can send my way I would love to hear from you!
This entry was posted in Fun and Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

